Latest News

The American Antitrust Institute (AAI) has filed comments with the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative opposing the imposition of “safeguard restrictions” on the import of Large Residential Washers (LRWs) under Section 201 of the Trade Act.

Today, AAI issued a commentary on the U.S. Department of Justice’s (DOJ’s) recent move to block the proposed merger of AT&T and Time Warner. AAI applauds the government’s decision. It reflects sound enforcement of Section 7 of the Clayton Act in an area of merger control that has been of concern to many policymakers for years. The government has laid out a strong case for how the merger could potentially harm the competitive process and consumers. And contrary to some claims, the DOJ’s move to block the merger is supported by a long-standing record of enforcement on vertical mergers. 

AAI offers a selection of useful resources on vertical merger enforcement that are helpful in evaluating proposed combinations and past enforcement. Items will be added over time. 

On December 7th, Slade Bond will deliver the keynote remarks during the luncheon for the American Antitrust Institute's Airline Roundtable.

On November 7, 2017, AAI hosted the 5th annual Antitrust Enforcement Awards dinner. Learn more about the awards and the 2017 Honorees here.