Latest News

In Oetting v. Green Jacobson, P.C., a panel of the Eighth Circuit earlier this month reversed the district court’s cy pres award to Legal Services of Eastern Missouri (Legal Services) in a nationwide securities class action. The cy pres award amounted to less than .5 percent of the original settlement fund and followed two distributions to class members. The Eighth Circuit decision is one of several recent appellate decisions to restrict cy pres awards in class action settlements. Such settlements may be undermined if the cy pres remedy becomes too difficult to use effectively.

Join academics, legal practitioners, and government representatives to explore the implications and applications of antitrust law in the wake of the landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision in FTC v. Actavis, Inc. Register here.   For questions about this event, please contact USF Law School directly at (415) 422-6307.

Last month, AAI Special Counsel Sandeep Vaheesan published an article in the Nebraska Law Review, The Evolving Populisms of Antitrust, 93 Neb. L. Rev. 370 (2014), on the history of U.S. antitrust law.

On December 1, 2014, friends and colleagues gathered to toast and roast outgoing AAI President Bert Foer.

The American Antitrust Institute held is 2nd Annual Antitrust Enforcement Awards on December 2, 2014. UCLA's Edward Leamer, Ph.D. received the award for Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Economics for his work in In Re High-Tech Employee Antitrust Litigation.   K. Craig Wildfang of Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi LLP was awarded Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Private Law Practice for his work as co-lead counsel for the plaintiff class in In re Payment Card Interchange Fee and Merchant Discount Litigation in which he secured approval of what is believed to be the largest-ever settlement of a private antitrust case in the 120-year history of the Sherman Act. Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement by a Young Lawyer was awarded to Matt Duncan of Fine, Kaplan and Black, R.P.C. for his work in In re Steel Antitrust Litigation. Read the complete list of finalists.