Susan Kelly

Susan (Sue) Kelly was elected to the Board of Trustees of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation in February 2021 and serves on the Compliance, Finance and Audit, Nominating, and Technology and Security Committees.

Ms. Kelly previously served as president and CEO of the American Public Power Association (APPA) from 2014 to 2019, where she led the national trade association serving public power utilities, having come to the organization in 2004 as its senior vice president of Policy Analysis and General Counsel responsible for APPA’s energy policy formulation and policy advocacy before FERC, the federal courts, and other governmental and industry policy forums.

Ms. Kelly has served on a number committees, including the Steering Committee of the Electricity Subsector Coordinating Council (2014 to 2019), the Commodity Futures Trading Commission’s Energy and Environmental Markets Advisory Committee (2015 to 2019), the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Committee (2008 to 2009 under the Bush Administration; 2012 to 2014 under the Obama Administration), and as the president of the Energy Bar Association (2010 to 2011). She was also a member of the E Source Advisory Board and served on the Board of Directors of the Center for Energy Workforce Development. She currently serves as chair of the Energy Bar Association Masters Council and has helped start a virtual mentoring program for Energy Bar Association members.

Ms. Kelly was named one of Washington’s “Most Powerful Women” in the November 2015 issue of Washingtonian magazine in the “Business, Labor, and Lobbying” category. In March 2017, she was honored as Woman of the Year by the Women’s Council on Energy and the Environment. In January 2020, she received Public Utility Fortnightly’s Owen Young Award to honor her exceptional contributions to the electric utility industry.

Ms. Kelly earned her bachelor’s degree in Honors Interdisciplinary Studies and Economics from the University of Missouri and her juris doctorate from the George Washington University, both with high honors.