The American Antitrust Institute 2019 Antitrust Enforcement Awards will recognize achievements in antitrust litigation by legal practitioners and economists. The Awards will be presented at an awards dinner on Tuesday, November 12, 2019, following the AAI’s Annual Private Antitrust Enforcement Conference. Registration and program information for the conference and the awards dinner will be available here.

Honorees will be recognized in three categories, the requirements and criteria for which are outlined in detail below.

Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Private Law Practice
This award is limited to private civil actions. Nominees can include a law firm, a law firm team, or individual practitioner(s). Nominees will be judged on:
(a) the benefit realized by the client, consumers, or class; and
(b) the positive development of antitrust policy.

Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement by a Young or Newly Admitted Lawyer
This award is limited to private civil actions. Nominees should be individual practitioner(s) under 40 years old or admitted to practice for 10 years or less. Nominees will be judged on:
(a) the individual’s contribution to the case;
(b) the benefit realized by the client, consumers, or class; and
(c) the positive development of antitrust policy.

Outstanding Antitrust Litigation Achievement in Economics
This award is limited to contributions within government or private civil or criminal antitrust litigation by an individual economist, team of economists, or economic consulting firm.
Nominees will be judged on:
(a) contribution to the development of antitrust-related economic methodology, analysis, and/or presentation; and
(b) the positive development of antitrust policy.

To become eligible for consideration, nominations must relate to antitrust-focused litigation that:
(a) was initiated in or appealed in any U.S. state or federal court; and
(b) resulted (whether or not subject to appeal) in a final judgment, verdict, dismissal, conviction, injunction, order, or settlement between July 1, 2018 and June 30, 2019.

Both third-party and self-nominations are accepted. Entrants can submit multiple projects. Anonymous nominations will not be accepted. There is no submission fee. The award submission period closed on August 30, 2019.

Download Award Procedures

Download the Entry Form

Past Honorees:


The AAI Annual Conference provides an opportunity for the AAI to honor outstanding contributors to the field of antitrust with the Alfred E. Kahn Award for Antitrust Achievement.

The AAI Antitrust Achievement Award has been presented to:



AAI established the Private Antitrust Enforcement Hall of Fame in 2018 as an important part of celebrating the AAI’s 20th anniversary and furthering the legacy of the progressive competition research, education, and advocacy that has defined AAI’s mission and success since its founding in 1998.

The Hall of Fame highlights the importance of private antitrust enforcement at a time when vigorous antitrust enforcement could not be more essential for the health of the U.S. economy and its markets, and for the protection of consumers, workers, and innovators. The inaugural “Class of 2018” sets a high standard for the caliber of success and achievement that AAI seeks to honor. The Hall of Fame recognizes practitioners for three major contributions:

  • Distinguished service to the private antitrust enforcement community;
  • Commitment to the enforcement of the antitrust laws; and
  • Success in fighting for competition, consumers, and workers

The Private Antitrust Enforcement Hall of Fame 2018 inductees are:

  • Joseph Goldberg
  • H. Laddie Montague Jr.


The Jerry S. Cohen Award for Antitrust Scholarship was created through a trust established in honor of the late Jerry S. Cohen, an outstanding trial lawyer and antitrust writer. It is administered by the law firm he founded, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll. The award is given each year to the best antitrust writing during the prior year that is consistent with the following standards established by the Board of Trustees of the Jerry S. Cohen Memorial Fund.

To be considered eligible and selected for the Award, submissions should reflect a concern for principles of economic justice, the dispersal of economic power, the maintenance of effective limitations upon economic power or the federal statutes designed to protect society from various forms of anticompetitive activity. Submissions should reflect an awareness of the human and social impacts of economic institutions upon individuals, small businesses and other institutions necessary to the maintenance of a just and humane society–values and concerns Jerry S. Cohen dedicated his life and work to fostering. Submissions may address substantive, procedural or evidentiary matters that reflect these values and concerns.

The recipients have been:

  • 2019 :Suresh Naidu, Eric A. Posner, and Glen Weyl, “Antitrust Remedies for Labor Market Power,” 132 Harv. L. Rev. 536 (2018) and Jose Azar, Martin C. Schmalz, and Isabel Tecu, “Anticompetitive Effects of Common Ownership,” 73 J. of Finance 1513 (2018).
  • 2018: Michal S. Gal and Alan D. Miller, “Patent Challenge Clauses: A New Antitrust Offense?”, 102 Iowa L. Rev. 1477 (2017) and Phillip Johnson, Edward Leamer, and Jeffrey Leitzinger, “Statistical Significance and Statistical Error in Antitrust Analysis,” 81 Antitrust L.J. 641 (2017)
  • 2017: Einer Elhauge, “Horizontal Shareholding,” 129 Harv. L. Rev. 1267 (2016)
  • 2016: Jonathan B. Baker, “Taking the Error Out of ‘Error Cost’ Analysis: What’s Wrong with Antitrust’s Right,” 80 Antitrust L.J. 1 (2015)
  • 2015: Aaron Edlin and Rebecca Haw for the article “Cartels by Another Name: Should Licensed Occupations Face Antitrust Scrutiny?” (162 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1093, 2014) and Andrew Gavil and Harry First for the book The Microsoft Antitrust Cases: Competition Policy for the Twenty-First Century.
  • 2014: C. Scott Hemphill and Tim Wu for the article “Parallel Exclusion” (122 Yale L.J. 11820) and John E. Kwoka, Jr. for the article “Does Merger Control Work? A Retrospective on U.S. Enforcement Actions and Merger Outcomes” (78 Antitrust L.J. 619)
  • 2013: John B. Kirkwood for the article “Powerful Buyers and Merger Enforcement” (92 B.U.L. Rev. 1485, 2012)
  • 2012: William E. Kovacic, Robert C. Marshall, Leslie M. Marx, Halbert L. White, Jr.for the article “Plus Factors and Agreement in Antitrust Law” (110 Mich. L. Rev. 393, 2011)
  • 2011: Louis Kaplow for the article “Why (Ever) Define Markets?” (124 Harv. L. Rev. 437)
  • 2010: Einer Elhauge for his article “Tying, Bundled Discounts, and the Death of the Single Monopoly Profit Theory” (123 Harvard Law Review 397, 2009
  • 2009: Larry Frankel for the article “The Flawed Institutional Design of U.S. Merger Review: Stacking the Deck Against Enforcement” published in the Utah Law Review
  • 2008: Professor Robert H. Lande of the University of Baltimore School of Law and Neil Averitt, Esq. of the Federal Trade Commission for their article Using the “Consumer Choice” Approach to Antitrust Law, 74 Antitrust L.J. 175 (2007); and Professor Maurice E. Stucke of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville – College of Law for his article Behavioral Economics at the Gate: Antitrust in the Twenty-First Century, 38 Loy. U. Chi. L.J. 513 (2007).
  • 2007: Lawrence Sullivan and Warren Grimes for The Law of Antitrust: An Integrated Handbook, second edition
  • 2006: Barry Nalebuff for his article, “Exclusionary Bundling,” in 50 Antitrust Bulletin.
  • 2005: Andrew Gavil for his article, “Exclusionary Distribution Strategies By Dominant Firms: Striking A Better Balance,” 72 Antitrust L.J. 3
  • 2003: John Connor for his book Global Price Fixing: Our Customers Are the Enemy.
  • 2002: Joseph Brodley, Patrick Bolton, and Michael Riordan for their article “Predatory Pricing: Strategic Theory and Legal Policy,” in 88 Georgetown L. J.