AAI Hosts 15th Annual Energy Roundtable

May 27 2015
AAI Announcements

Experts in antitrust and regulation from government, industry, advocacy, and academia gathered today in Washington D.C. to discuss competition policy issues involving competitive implications of emerging disruptive electricity technologies that could transform both retail and wholesale electricity markets.

Hosted by the American Antitrust Institute, with support from American Public Power Association and National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, the 15th Annual Energy Roundtable examined the state of emerging disruptive electricity technologies, the pressures they exert on current utility models, and the competitive issues they introduce in retail and wholesale markets.

The day opened with the traditional “Year in Review” presented by Dave Mohre, Executive Director of the Energy and Power Division of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.  

The morning panel focused on nascent and expanding technologies such as distributed generation, the regulatory policy developments and controversies surrounding their integration and pricing, and the pressures these developments place on the current retail-wholesale electricity market relationship. 

Heather Bailey, Executive Director of Energy Strategy and Electric Utility Development for the City of Boulder Energy Future gave the luncheon keynote address.

The afternoon panel focused on the competitive challenges that disruptive technologies pose for new entrants and incumbents alike, how anticompetitive behavior differs from legitimate competitive responses, and the role for state and federal regulators and antitrust enforcers in promoting competition.

Other presenters and panelists included:

  • Paula Carmody, Maryland People’s Counsel
  • Jeff Dennis, Director of the Division of Policy Development in the Office of Energy Policy and Innovation, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Jade Eaton, Trial Attorney, Antitrust Division, U.S. Department of Justice
  • Mark Hegedus, Attorney, Office of the General Counsel, Federal Trade Commission
  • John E. Kwoka, Neal F. Finnegan Distinguished Professor, Department of Economics, Northeastern University
  • Diana Moss, President, American Antitrust Institute
  • Jeffrey I. Shinder, Partner, Constantine Cannon
  • Abraham Silverman, Assistant General Counsel–Regulatory, NRG Energy
  • Paul Sotkiewicz, Chief Economist, Markets Division, PJM Interconnection

AAI Energy Roundtable discussions are off-the-record. A rapporteur’s summary of the proceedings (without attribution to individual speakers) will be made available shortly.